#### SCHOOL DISTRICT OF JOHNSON CREEK

Annual Meeting Minutes Monday, September 20, 2010 6:00 p.m. Elementary Music Room

Call to order: School Board President Tina Roehl called the meeting to order.

**Present:** Duane Draeger, Rick Kaltenberg, June McCaffery, Andy Swanson, Carol O'Neil, Kellie Loeb, Tina Roehl, Michael Garvey, Kris Blakeley, Ken Johnson, Carolyn Anderson, Roberta Gray, Vicki Sukow, Charissa Sloviak, Melanie Heckel, Les Gray.

Also Present: Katelin Shea, Eric Ranzen

Carol O'Neil/Mike Garvey nominated Fritzie Heckel to be the chairperson. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Neil/Swanson to waive the reading of the minutes from the September 21, 2009 Annual Meeting and accept them as printed. Motion carried.

## Resolution A: Salary for Members of the Board of Education

Moved by Les Gray/Kellie Loeb to set the salaries of all Board members at \$1,100 and to keep the additional salaries of the officers the same as the 2009-2010 school year (Board President = \$155.00/year, Board Clerk = \$155.00/year, Board Treasurer = \$130.00/year), and that they are reimbursed actual and necessary expenses when traveling in the performance of their duties as Board members. Motion carried.

### **Resolution B: School Food Service Program**

Moved by June McCaffery/Rick Kaltenberg to authorize the Board of Education to maintain a school food service program for the pupils attending the Johnson Creek Schools and to appropriate funds to be used for that purpose. Motion carried.

### **Resolution C: Textbooks**

Moved by Tina Roehl/Mike Garvey to authorize the Board of Education to furnish free textbooks to students attending the Johnson Creek Schools. Motion carried.

## **Resolution D: Sale of Surplus Property**

Moved by Kellie Loeb/Andy Swanson to authorize the Board of Education to sell and dispose of any tangible personal property belonging to the School District that is determined by the Board of Education to be no longer needed for school purposes. Motion carried.

# **Resolution E: Transportation**

Moved by Carol O'Neil/Vicki Sukow to authorize the Board of Education to purchase, operate, and maintain pupil transportation vehicles and to purchase liability insurance for such vehicles or to finance contracts for the use and services of student transportation vehicles. Motion carried.

## **Resolution F: Tax Levy**

Moved by Tina Roehl/Rick Kaltenberg to levy upon the taxable property of the Johnson Creek School District the sum of \$3,692,682 for the purpose of defraying the costs of operation and maintenance of the public schools, \$697 for the Charge Back Levy, and \$15,000 for the Community Service Fund, for a total levy of \$3,708,379. Motion carried.

Moved by Duane Draeger/Rick Kaltenberg to set the next Annual Meeting for September 19, 2011. Motion carried.

Moved by Mike Garvey/Carol O'Neil to adjourn. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Anderson Board Secretary